Jill Hall - Brown County Auditor

   
Banner

Important Dates

December 1st - Dog Tag Applications go on sale for next year

Purchase Dog Tags

Online_Dog_Registration

Dog Warden

Brown County Animal Shelter
(937) 378-3457
100 Veterans Blvd.
Georgetown, Ohio  45121

Licensing Your Dog (Info. & Downloadable Form)

How Much?

During December through January you may purchase a 1-year tag for $14.00, a 3-year tag for $42.00 or a lifetime tag for $140.00.  The 3 year and lifetime tags may only be purchased at the Auditor’s Office or online here.  After January 31st of any given year, the tag(s) will have a penalty of $14.00 added to each.  The Ohio Revised Code requires this penalty be added as of February 1st of any year.

When?

All dogs over three (3) months of age must be licensed each year by January 31st. If you bring your dog into Ohio after that date, you are required to purchase the license within 30 days.

Where?

Dog tags can always be purchased at the Brown County Auditor's Office, in the County Administration Building at 800 Mt. Orab Pike in Georgetown, from 7:30a to 4:00p., Monday through Friday.  Other locations are available throughout the county.  The following is a list of all current locations: 

Fayetteville * Fayetteville Hardware & Supply (19535 US 68) 513.875.3030
Georgetown * Brown County Auditor's Office (800 Mt. Orab Pk.) 937.378.6398
Brown County Animal Shelter (100 Veterans Way) 937.378.3457
Mt. Orab * Village of Mt. Orab (211 S. High St.) 937.444.4141
Ripley Ripley Builder Supply (116 Main St.) 937.392.1371
Sardinia Village of Sardinia (151 Maple Ave.) 937.446.3807 Ext. 1

* Denotes Year Round Locations
Tags purchased at satellite locations have a .75¢ handling fee added per Ohio Law. 

Please call 937.378.6398 or toll-free 888.244.6420 for further information.  After January 31st, the fees will include a penalty unless a dog is newly acquired.

Why?

Firstly, licensing is a requirement of State Law.  Secondly, the license attached to your dog's collar will identify you as the owner should the dog be lost.  If your dog, with their license attached, is found running at large by the Brown County Warden, you will be contacted by phone to let you know that the dog has been impounded and where you can retrieve them.

With a license your dog can be kept for up to 14 days.  Without a license your dog can be held for no more than 3 days according to Ohio State Law.

Dog License Instructions & Form